top of page

Dean phillips Q & A

Updated: Mar 28, 2019

What is your name?


RD Phillips & Dean Phillips


When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?


I and my wife were readers, one or two books a week, and I had wanted to write a book for many years, but it was at my late wife’s suggestion that I finally did. Having read a few pieces that I had written, she thought I would make a great writer, and asked if I had thought about writing a full length book. I told her I had, and a couple months later I finished my first, badly written book. She read it, and said the story was good, but the writing wasn’t. Rewriting has cured that problem.


What genre books do you write?


Mystery, and romance.


What is the name of your book/books?


Taking Jules, Brad & Terri, The Uptown Rally.


Where there alternate endings you considered?


Yes, I did have alternate endings, but the one chosen, fits.


If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?


Write, even if no one ever reads your work.


Does your family support your career as a writer?


Yes, my sisters read what I write. While my wife was alive, after reading my first book, the next day she presented me with a certificate declaring me a writer. I still have that certificate, my first award.


What’s the most difficult thing about writing characters from the opposite sex?


Strange, with five sisters and a wife for almost thirty years, I don’t have a problem writing from the viewpoint of the opposite sex.


Does writing energize or exhaust you?


Both, writing a new book is exciting. Creating new characters that only exist in my mind, but exhausting when re-writing and re-writing and re-writing, etc., etc., etc. (you get the idea).


What items do you surround yourself with when you write?


I surround myself with any and all non-fiction books and items that support the story I’m about to write. I try to immerse myself with anything and everything that supports the story. It’s usually my outline, music, charts, maps, and of course, the internet.


What is your favourite genre of books to read?


Mystery. I do read a collection of eclectic fiction books that are popular, past and present, as research and to understand readers desires. I don’t always write in that genre, but good writing is good writing, no matter which genre.


What is your favorite childhood book?


The Wizard of Oz, scary!


Do you have a favourite author or one who inspires you to write?


Many, but John Grisham, Patricia Cornwell and Tom Clancy, were the three who made me first think about writing my own book.


What words of wisdom would you give to someone who wants to be an author?


A writer is a writer. So, write because you have to write, not to be famous or make money, because, I assure you, the last two are certainly ‘long shots.’


Dean Phillips Website Click Here.



A digital image of their target had been sent. Minutes later, the encrypted order was received, “Take the girl now.”

With those four little words, the sheltered innocence of an eighteen-year-old pre-med student was forever lost.

The young blonde victim was the only daughter of a wealthy Colorado couple. She had been taken during her early morning run. Upon learning of their daughter’s abduction, her parents held a news conference, and pleaded for her safe return. Immediately afterwards, a $250,000 reward was offered.

On the following night, and more than one thousand miles away, a nineteen-year-old went missing from an inner city nightclub. Unlike the earlier kidnapping, she didn’t come from a wealthy family. There was no press conference, and no reward was ever offered. What remained behind, was an elderly grandmother to plea the case to a mostly skeptic and apathetic press.

Is there a connection between these two missing teenagers? Or are their disappearances just two random acts? The task of discovering the answers to those questions has fallen into the lap of Ms. Ebony Alice Walters.

Ebony has worked as a freelance journalist for many of the country’s leading newspapers and magazines. Scores of her stories have been the featured articles on the covers of those publications, but what has eluded Ebony over the years, is that One Big Story.

That one news worthy subject that will produce the pinnacle in the career of the writer, who unearths the facts, and pens those facts into the story the whole world will read.

Inside the pages of this book can be found the surprising, and sinister reason, why these two teenagers were taken.


Amazon uk Buy Here.

Amazon com Buy Here.




FIND MORE AUTHOR INTERVIEWS HERE.



30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page