top of page

Samantha Goodwin Q & A



Q & A


What is your name? 


Samantha Goodwin.


When did you first realise you wanted to be a writer?


I’ve always wanted to be a writer for as long as I can remember. I recall being really proud of a Spot the Dog book I wrote when I was 5! Although in hindsight my dog drawing looked more like a giraffe…


What genre books do you write?


I write contemporary crime fiction, featuring British detectives.


What is the name of your book/books?


Murder at Macbeth is my debut crime mystery novel. It’s a classic whodunnit that centres around a talented, young actress who unwittingly stabs herself live onstage after a prop knife is tampered with.


Were there alternate endings you considered?


No, but I did spend a lot of time considering the different motives the suspects would have for killing the show’s leading lady, as I wanted it to be a really gripping murder mystery that keeps the readers guessing right until the very end.


If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?


Write the book that you want to read and don’t worry about other peoples’ opinions. I used to write all the time when I was younger and then for a long time I stopped because I became too worried about what other people thought. I’m so much happier now I can just focus on enjoying the writing again!


Does your family support your career as a writer?


Absolutely! It was my husband who convinced me to pick up a pen and start writing again. He knew I could write a novel before I did!


What’s the most difficult thing about writing characters from the opposite sex?


For me it’s the knowledge that I just don’t have. I’ve had to research car maintenance and football leagues so I could write convincing dialogue!


Does writing energise or exhaust you?


Writing always energises me, it makes me feel so alive! It’s pure escapism for me, but makes me feel really connected to the world at the same time. I’ve always said that I write to escape life, but also to embrace it.


What items do you surround yourself with when you write?


Chocolate. Lots of chocolate! And a pen because I always handwrite everything first as I find my ideas flow so much better.


What is your favourite genre of books to read?


I love crime novels and I also love contemporary fiction, YA and dystopia too.


What is your favourite childhood book?


The Harry Potter series will always be a classic one for me. For the first 5 books I was exactly the same age as Harry Potter was when they were first released, so I really felt like I was growing up with the books and could relate to the characters on so many levels.


Do you have a favourite author or one who inspires you to write?


The author who has inspired me the most is definitely J.K. Rowling. Not just because she created the incredible Harry Potter universe, but more so because she wrote the first books while she was a single parent looking after a young baby. I find that dedication incredibly inspiring. I wrote my debut novel while pregnant and working fulltime and did a lot of my editing while looking after a newborn, so I understand how challenging the balancing act can be.


What words of wisdom would you give to someone who wants to be an author?


Believe in yourself, and surround yourself with positive people who will spur you on. Writing groups and online communities are great for when you need advice. It’s good to make those connections early on so you don’t feel isolated and are motivated to keep going. And don’t worry about getting it right first time. One of my favourite writing quotes is from Shannon Hale who said, “I’m writing a first draft and reminding myself that I’m simply shovelling sand into a box so that later I can build castles.”


Visit Samantha's website here.

Follow here on instagram here.



Whose deadly secret has taken centre stage?


When a talented, young actress unwittingly stabs herself live onstage after a prop knife is tampered with, suspicion immediately falls on her eclectic band of cast mates.


But who had the motive to kill the show's leading lady?


As the insightful, yet disillusioned, Detective Inspector Finley Robson and his shrewd partner, Detective Sergeant Nadia Zahra, interrogate the seven key suspects, secrets unfold to unveil a web of scandal, blackmail, and deceit.


Bitter rivalries, secret trysts and troubled pasts are just the beginning of the story…


Set against the backdrop of a gritty London theatre production of Macbeth, this compelling novel explores a dark world of mystery and intrigueAll is not as it seems...

A hugely gripping crime mystery full of unpredictable twists and suspense, Murder at Macbeth will captivate you from the very first page and keep you guessing right until the end.


International Flash 500 Novel Award Longlist.


Buy at:




35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page